Baguio | Le Coq Bleu

Baguio is a thing for me since 2015. I need to make sure that despite the hectic schedule at work, food adventures, planned and spontaneous excursions, I will be able to squeeze Baguio in to my calendar and planner.

I’ve been to Baguio three times already but why does it feel like there’s still so much more to see? That’s exactly the reason why I made up my mind to visit Baguio yearly. I was with my college friends on my recent 2-day trip to Baguio last November ’16. I was the instigator of this trip, hence I felt the need to make the itinerary. I already had a list of the places where we will eat and visit prior making the itinerary, the only challenge for me is the order in which things need to happen because we only have freakin’ 2 days (Saturday – Sunday) to enjoy Baguio and we need to maximize our time.

Below is the actual itinerary I made. LOL

Day 1: Nov. 12, 2016
3:00AM-9:00AM Manila to Baguio
9:00AM-10:30AM Breakfast at Cafe by the Ruins (Shuntug Rd. branch)
10:30AM-12:00PM Check in at Le Coq Bleu/Floral and freshen up
12:00PM-1:30PM Mt. Cloud Bookshop
1:30PM-3:00PM Cinematheque @ Casa vallejo (OPTIONAL!)
3:00PM-4:00PM Merienda at Hillstation
4:00PM-6:00PM Burnham Park
– Strawberry Taho
– Bike
– Boat ride
6:00PM-9:00PM Dinner at Ketchup Food Community and chill
9:00PM-9:45PM Head back to Le Coq Bleu (Gates are closed from 10PM – 7AM)

Day 2: Nov. 13, 2016
7:00AM-8:30AM Wake up! Get ready!
8:30AM-9:45AM Breakfast and photoshoot at Le Coq Bleu/Floral
10:00AM-12:00PM Leave Le Coq Bleu/Floral and go to Bencab Museum
12:00PM-1:30PM Lunch at Cafe Sabel
1:30PM-2:30PM Old Diplomat hotel (OPTIONAL!)
2:30PM-3:30PM Mines View Park
3:30PM-5:00PM Early dinner at Balbacua at Urban Kamote – Ili-likha Artist Village
5:00PM-10:00PM Baguio to Manila

So our first destination is Cafe by the Ruins. We were just in time for their opening that’s why we did not fall in line. But as I saw it, I think it’s usual for them to have a long queue anytime of the day. Just so you know, some of us, like me, came from work right before driving up to Baguio, that’s why breakfast for energy! LOL

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

The most exciting part of this trip is checking in to Le Coq Bleu. We were welcomed by Chantal and her pet dogs named Juno and Zeus. I was really looking forward to seeing this beautiful French-inspired humble abode of Chantal and Boi after reading so many good reviews about it on AirBnB and viewing pictures of their very instagrammable interior. I honestly went crazy the whole stay, I almost ditched the itinerary and choose to just stay at Le Coq Bleu the entire weekend.

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

After checking in, we freshen up a bit and then went along with our itinerary. We visited few places around the city proper like Mt. Cloud Bookshop and Casa Vallejo. We had lunch at Hill Station which is just right beside the bookshop. Next stop was Burnham Park where we had Strawberry Taho and rented a bike and a boat.

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

Burnham Park will always be part of my Baguio itinerary. I super love this place! It’s so peaceful, cold but warm at the same time. There are so many activities to do here and I definitely could spend an entire day in this indescribably beautiful place.

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

We had dinner at Ketchup Food Community but I was not able to get photos because we were all exhausted. We just wanted to have dinner and then go home. But we also capped off the night with some beers and a small talk with Chantal in front of her fire place.

On our second day, we had free breakfast at Le Coq Floral. It’s a few minutes walk uphill from Le Coq Bleu. The place was also beautiful! This is where the guys stayed for the night since the other room in Le Coq Bleu was already occupied by other guests.

After breakfast, we went back to Le Coq Bleu and got ready for check out. We went to Bencab Museum which was already near from Chantal’s place and had lunch at Cafe Sabel.

After lunch, we went to Mines View Park because Franco (the guy in the photo above) wanted to have some grilled squid. We were suppose to drop by at Old Diplomat Hotel before that but we just decided to go straight to Mines View Park then Good Shepherd to buy some pasalubong. Then we had dinner at Balbacua at Urban Kamote – Ili-likha Artist Village. (I will absolutely include the Old Diplomat Hotel in my next itinerary to Baguio!)

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset

The only tip I could give if you wanna pull off like this very quick escape from reality is to bring a car. Another option is that you can rent a car like what we did. It’s because we only have 2 days and we do not prefer getting a cab every time we jump to one place from another. Not only it’s hassle-free but you can also save a lot.

There are a lot of beautiful places to explore just outside Manila which are not more than 3 hours drive away and I cannot wait to go on my next excursion. Watch out for my next blogpost and follow my Instagram account to get latest updates on my crazy life! LOL – ianthebrave

Leave a Reply

