Siquijor Island

Had I only known that there are ‘Aswang’ and ‘Mambabarang’ tales in Siquijor, then I would’ve probably did not even consider pushing through this trip especially that I went solo. But thank goodness I had no idea then about these crazy stories because I tell you, Siquijor has so much in store for travelers who love picturesque views of nature and outdoor activities. So happy that I did not miss any of these because of some popular myths and legends about this island.

For travelers bound for Dumaguete, I highly recommend to spare a day and spend it on this beautiful province. I went here alone and it wasn’t the original plan. Let’s just say things didn’t work out entirely as I have planned. LOL. You can rent a manual motorcycle for only P350 pesos and load it up with gas worth P150 and you are good to go for the day. Three (3) persons can ride the vehicle and imagine how cheap it is to roam around Siquijor? Well, not for me because I was alone so I had to pay the entire damage plus the driver’s fee. HAHA! But it’s absolutely worth it!

I had a minor problem before I went to Siquijor. I honestly thought that it was no longer going to materialize because the ticket counter of Oceanjet is faulty, very slow and they were encountering connection issue that time. I received my ticket for the ferry at 9:38AM and the boat is about to depart at 9:40AM. I ran! And I even posted it on my Instagram story. LOL. I’m happy that I made it! It was a 45-minute air-conditioned ferry ride and I was able to squeeze in a power nap. YAZ!

The calm after the storm. LOL πŸ™‚

So we’ve finally arrived! The beach and clear waters, the community, and the smiles of the locals are the things that you will see as soon as you set foot on Siquijor. Those were just the hints that it was going to be a hell of a good day!

So, how was it like to be riding a motorcycle the entire day? Well aside from the fact that I forgot to put on a sunscreen and got toasted, it was a freakin’ awesome experience! Not bad for my first time to travel around via habal-habal, if that’s what they call it. πŸ˜›

So we headed to our first destination which is the Paliton Beach. Kuya Jorich, the driver, said that it was a public beach so it was basically open for everyone. Though there was a mini signboard hanging with a written note, ‘No trespassing!’ Figured that it was free because there were no guards or any security. LOL. And during that time, the place is all to ourselves!

Then we had several stops at some of Siquijor’s oldest places and tourist spots. We went to Capilay Natural Spring which is open for public and is situated at the heart of San Juan town. You can literally swim here everyday for free. And of course, I visited a church which is a must for me every time I go to a new place.

And finally, we were bound for Cambugahay Falls! I have seen a lot of beautiful photos of this renowned falls in Siquijor for it has this gatorade-like water and a swing! I was also extremely lucky that there were only a handful of people during my visit and I had more time to appreciate the beauty of the falls. I was just staring at it for a long time like I’m waiting for the water to run out. LOL. There were 3 falls actually. I was the sole traveler in the topmost falls and found these kids playing and swimming around. I’ve learnt that they reside just beside the falls and I couldn’t imagine how fun is that for them. Β So jelly!

After soaking up in the water and taking countless photos, we went ahead for our last destination which is the Salagdoong Beach. Note that in order to get to Cambugahay Falls, it requires a bit of an exercise as you have to go downhill and uphill to get back. There’s also a P20 parking fee for motorcycles. It was worth it though coz it will definitely take your breath away at first sight. WOOOOOW. Yep, that’s exactly how I reacted!

On our way to the beach, we passed by the forest of Salagdoong. It brought back a lot of memories from Bohol because the road is so much like the Man-made Forest. It felt like I’m in a story of a book and the setting is on a magical forest. Alice in Wonderland, maybe? πŸ™‚

I basically had no sleep and no lunch, yet. It’s a good thing that Salagdoong Beach has this small restaurant where you can order sandwiches and some savories. I ordered a Cheese Burger which is just fine for me. It tasted okay and maybe because I was super hungry. Choosy pa?! LOL. But in my normal appetite, it may really not pass even if I adjust my standards. Jk. HAHA! Still, it was a tummy filler and a good source of energy to keep me up the entire day.

And so I asked Kuya Jorich if he knows somewhere else I can chill. And by chill, I mean coffee + ambiance! He recommended the Triad Coffee Shop in Larena. It’s called ‘Triad’ because it offers a high ground view of the other islands that comprise Central Visayas: Cebu, Bohol, and Negros. It was on the way back to the port so strategically speaking, it’s best to go here before you leave Siquijor. Did I get a coffee? Yes! Was it good? Not bad. Did the view give justice? Absolutely!

Day 1 – 06/16/2017
07:00 AM – 08:10 AM Manila to Dumaguete flight
08:10 AM – 08:25 AM Airport processing
08:25 AM – 09:40 AM Travel time from Sibulan Airport to Dumaguete Port
09:40 AM – 10:30 AM Travel time from Dumaguete Port to Siquijor Port
10:30 AM – 04:00 PM Siquijor experience (Balete Tree, Cambugahay Falls, Salagdoong Beach, etc.)
04:00 PM – 05:00 PM Travel back to Siquijor Port
05:00 PM – 05:45 PM Travel time from Siquijor Port to Dumaguete Port
05:45 PM – 08:00 PM Dinner at Hayahay Treehouse Bar & Viewdeck

Tips:

  1. If you are going to Siquijor for a day trip as well, make sure to buy your tickets at Oceanjet as early as possible. Why? Because you surely don’t wanna encounter the same experience as mine. They have different schedules so check it out online.
  2. Once you arrive in the Siquijor port, check out the schedules of Oceanjet for your return later that afternoon. You wanna avoid hassle, right?
  3. If you plan on renting a motorcycle, you can call Kuya Jorich at +63 917 954 4960.
  4. If you are not a backpacker, you can ask Kuya Jorich to leave your things and get it back afterwards. Just make sure to bring all the things that you’ll be needing for the trip (Ex. camera, sunblock, clothes, etc..).
  5. If you are into some adrenaline rush, then you should try cliff jumping at Salagdoong Beach.
  6. If there’s a later schedule ferry ride back to Dumaguete, then take it. You should really witness the sunset in Siquijor.

 

 

Leave a Reply

